Skip Navigation
This table is used for column layout.
Official Results of Annual Town Election and Annual Town Meeting
The Town Clerk has posted the results of the April 5, 2011 Annual Town Election and the April 7 Annual Town Meeting.  Click here for the complete listing.   

In contested races, incumbent Selectmen Joe Nolan and Steve Correia were re-elected to three-year terms.  In the School Committee contests, newcomer Ellen Grieco defeated School Committee member Louis Jurist in the race to fill the one year remaining of an unexpired term, while incumbent School Committee members Barb Fletcher and Beth Butler won election bids for three-year terms.  Russell Kopp defeated Steven Glovsky as a Commissioner of Trust Funds.  

The debt exclusion ballot question, which authorizes an override of Proposition 2 1/2 to fund the development and construction of two athletic fields at Wayland Middle School and the acquisition of school technology equipment for elementary schools, passed by a vote of 1,159 to 996, a margin of 53.8% to 46.2%.  A two-third's vote will be required at Annual Town Meeting to appropriate the funds for these projects.

A total of 2,434 voters of 8,931 eligible voters cast ballots, a turnout of 27.25%.  This compares with turnout of 38.5% in the 2009 annual town election and 33% in the 2010 annual town election, both years which featured a handful of contested races and no operational override question on the ballot.