# MINUTES OF THE WELLFLEET CULTURAL COUNCIL December 13, 2010 WELLFLEET PUBLIC LIBRARY, 6:00pm

**Present:** Martha Carroll, Tom Cole, Heather Draz, Katie Hickey, Gigi Ledkovsky, Janet Lesniak (Publicity), Ennie McDonald, Janet Morrissey (Recording Secretary), Polli-Jo Moryl (Treasurer), Kim Shkapich (Chair), Elisabeth Smith

Guests: Susan Weegar

The chair called the meeting to order at 6:00 pm.

## **Meeting Minutes**

November 8, 2010 minutes were unanimously accepted with corrections.

## Chair's Report

WCC past president Susan Weegar was selected to receive a Massachusetts Cultural Council (MCC) Leadership Circle award for her work as an outstanding Local Cultural Council (LCC) volunteer. Council plans for an honoring ceremony will be discussed at a future meeting.

The FY2011 MCC allocation was inaccurately reported as \$3800 at the previous meeting. The allotment is \$3870.

### **Publicity Report**

In addition to the usual media outlets, this year's LCC grant awards announcement will be sent to the council's recently established e-mail contact list.

The council's web page on Discoverwellfleet.com will be claimed once web page content is finalized.

## **Recording Secretary's Report**

Correspondence received:

- 1. Melissa Nussbaum reimbursement request, which was turned over to the treasurer for processing.
- 2. Memorandum from Dawn Rickman regarding quorum issues and Roberts Rules of Order, which was turned over to the chair.

#### **Election of Corresponding Secretary**

Ms. Carroll was unanimously elected corresponding secretary, and she accepted the appointment.

#### **Annual Report**

Council members discussed and unanimously approved with corrections the draft annual report prepared by the chair. The corrected report will be e-mailed to town hall.

## **FY2011 Grant Approval Letter**

The FY2010 grant approval letter was reviewed and revised for FY2011 use. Ms. Hickey will e-mail the corrected digital file to Ms. Carroll, who will generate and mail individualized approval packets to grant recipients.

#### **Grant Priority and Expectations Statement**

Members reviewed and unanimously approved with corrections a priority and expectations statement drafted by Ms. Smith. The form will be included in future approved and disapproved grantee correspondence to help assist applicants craft successful grants.

## **Town Funding Request**

The town funding request drafted by Ms. Carroll was unanimously approved with corrections. The request will be e-mailed to town hall by the chair.

# **FY2011 Grantee Liaison Assignments**

Ms. Carroll: Wellfleet Historical Society historical garden project; John Root COA program.

Ms. Draz: Denya Levine and Jennifer Stratton Sea Babies programs; Wellfleet Elementary School assembly.

Mr. Cole: PIFF film series.

Ms. Hickey: Ellen Raquel Lebow portrait gallery project.

Ms. Ledkovsky: Nauset Middle School arts day.

Ms. Lesniak: Cape Cod Opera school assembly; Wellfleet Preservation Hall movies.

Ms. McDonald: Cape Cod Chamber Music Festival concert.

Ms. Morrissey: Tara Murphy African dance performance; John Root COA program.

Ms. Moryl: Ellen Anthony Wellfleet Library performance; Sky Freyss-Cole Nauset High School program.

Ms. Shkapich: Cape Cod Museum of Art internship program; Payomet Performing Arts Center film festival.

Ms. Smith: James Rohrer portraits project.

Ms. Weegar: Sharon Leder and Wendy Levine Wellfleet Library workshop.

#### Miscellaneous

Ms. Moryl has been sworn in at town hall, completing requirements for council appointment.

The Cultural Council banner is still missing; members will continue their efforts to locate it.

#### **New Business**

Council members will bring ideas for future fund raising events to the next meeting for discussion. Other events, including a September grant writing workshop, a grant honoree reception, and a logo contest will also be discussed.

## **Next Meeting**

The next meeting of the Wellfleet Cultural Council will be at 6:00pm on Monday, January 10, 2011, at the Wellfleet Public Library. Mr. Cole will reserve the library meeting room.

#### Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned by consensus at 8:10pm.

Respectfully submitted by Janet Morrissey, Recording Secretary