PUBLIC CEREMONIES COMMITTEE

Minutes of January 11, 2012

- 1) The meeting opened at 7:10 p.m. Members present were Richard Turner, John Turchinetz, Lily Ho Schlafer and John Dyer. Dennis Berry also attended. Absent Evan Barber Student Member
- 2) Minutes of November 8, 2011 were read and accepted.
- 3) Correspondence: George Bernard provided a list of expenses associated with the Veterans Day program at the Trinitarian Church complex. The charges included items such as hall rental (\$160 paid for by former resident Douglas Bernard), program printing, refreshments, flowers, etc totaling some \$462, excluding the hall rental. Previously, the PCC had authorized expenditure of up to \$400. Therefore, it was moved and passed to authorize payment for \$400 to George Bernard. We agreed to extend our thanks to George on behalf of the Town for his efforts, the third such program he has developed
- 4) The committee discussed the presentation of the 2011 Lydia Maria Child Award to recipient, Mrs. Barbara Sheffles for many years of volunteer Geology programs to Wayland 4th and 5th graders. We decided that the best venue would be at a School Committee meeting. **ACTION ITEM:** Richard Turner will contact chair Barbara Fletcher to select the date and time when the presentation will take place.
- 5) We discussed the upcoming .2012 LMC Award. **ACTION ITEM:** Richard will draft a public announcement calling for nominations. He will circulate the draft to members for comments and then release it to press and other media. We chose the deadline for submission of names as March 1, 2012. We also made our list of some of those who merit consideration for the 2012 LMC Award. Those who shall be given consideration include: Lea Anderson and the High School Building Committee; The Wayland Board of Selectmen (current and prior members); Cherry Karlson and the Finance Committee, George Dergalis (designer of the Veterans Memorial); George Bernard (Veterans Day programs); Tony Boschetto and associates (tax rebate initiative); Tom Turner (47 years dispatcher).
- 6) We discussed possible dates for future meetings to accommodate the difficulty Richard Brisk has with Wednesday meetings. Accordingly, we selected the first Tuesday of the month as the regular meeting time. This includes February 7, March 6, and April 3. The April 3 meeting will be the one at which the LMC Award winner will be chosen.
- 7) The meeting adjourned at 8:05 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, John C. Dyer