## Town Of Wayland Public Ceremonies Committee March 10, 2011

1. The meeting was called to order at 7:20 p.m.

Attendees: Chair; Richard Turner, John Dyer, Richard Brisk, Lily Schlafer & John Turchinetz Absent Daniel Kim (Student Member)

2. Public Comment

The chairman opened the floor for public comment. None was offered

- 3. The minutes from our February, 2011 meeting were accepted as last presented.
- 4. No vote was taken on any payments issue as none was presented.
- 5. There was correspondence regarding the LMC Award (see item 6). This is a sign that, the award is considered noteworthy by many in Wayland. Nice going PCC
- 6. Many new names were submitted for consideration of the LMC Award.

Peter Gossels – Not considered because of his previous awards and recognition by the town.

Sally Cartwright, Lea Anderson,

MaryAnn DiNapoli – an employee

Julie Secord, Anna Maliones, Bill Prendergast.

There was some discussion of a few of the leading candidates.

Lea Anderson was noted as being the prime mover for the new Wayland HS.

A comment was made that employees of the town, such as MaryAnn DiNapoli, are recognized in a different way.

After our short discussion, we agreed to consider all those on our list including those from last year's list

Medical Reserve Corp of Wayland, Wayland Interfaith group and Michael Paterson and be prepared to vote on them at our next PCC meeting.

- 7. John Dyer updated us on the progress of the planning committee for the 2013 celebration of Wayland's 375<sup>th</sup> formation.
  - -The committee currently includes

Mary Antes – Temporary chairperson

Lynne Dunbrack, Frank Kennedy, Lois Davis, John Dyer

- -There are 3 seats still open.
- -Wayland township was established in 1638. Hence the celebration of its 375<sup>th</sup> year is 2013.
- -John feels that we might fashion the celebration around the three periods of Wayland's growth. Colonial period to 1776

Agricultural and industrial period.

Post WW I periods – the urbanization of Wayland.

- John will request seed money for celebration at next Town Meeting.
- 8. John Turchinetz brought up the Flag Retirement Committee.

The PCC had previously agreed to provide some refreshments TBD (coffee, hot chocolate,

cookies, tables and chairs) in the hearing room, in coordination with whatever other committees will provide.

- 9. Freedom prize
  - -Use the same judges. Richard Hoyt or Kevin Delaney
  - -First prize of \$500 to the winner.
- 10. The meeting adjourned at 8:00 p.m.

The next meeting was set for 7:00 p.m. on Wednesday, March 30, 2011.

Respectfully submitted Richard Brisk

Approved and Accepted By Unanimous Vote 03/30/2011