## **Public Ceremonies Committee**

## Minutes of March 11 2009

7:00 Pm the meeting was called to order by Chairman Richard Turner in the selectmen's room Wayland Town Building

The Following Members were present

Richard Turner Chair

Richard Brisk

John Dyer

Brendan Place (student Member)

Absent Karen Kiefer

7:05 Pm There was no public comment to be heard

7:15 Pm There was no minutes to be read from the previous meeting

Agenda Item # 1 the committee discussed potential and selected the following nominees to receive the article one award at the annual town meeting in April. The nominees are as follows

Dyer presented an idea of honoring those who have taken a role as watch dogs in the public interest several candidates names were brought up for consideration those favored for specific results were.

George Harris for open meeting law monitoring

Linda Segal for multiple areas

Wayland Voters Network for investigative journalism

Mike Short

Tom Sciacca

Molly Upton

Betty Salzberg

**Voted Unanimous** 

Agenda item # 2

The committee discussed the future of the veteran's memorial freedom prize and what it will entail when the public ceremonies committee takes it over after the veteran's memorial committee disbanded.

No vote taken

Agenda item #3 the committee discussed the planning and logistics for the Memorial Day parade and ceremony on 05/25/09 Dan Montouri has not Contacted Captain Victor Beck to Be the speaker

Agenda item # 4

Adjournment and setting next meeting date next meeting will be March 11 2009

Submitted By

Richard P Turner Chair