

# Plaistow First Committee

145 Main Street, Plaistow, New Hampshire 03865 Tel: 603-382-7371, Ext. 14 Fax: 603-382-7183

# MINUTES

#### PLAISTOW FIRST COMMITTEE MEETING August 24, 2011

The Meeting was Called to Order at 3:36 p.m. by Bob Harb.

## ROLL CALL

**Committee Members Present**: Bob Harb, Dave Hansbury, Dick Latham, Bob Gray, Dan Johnson, Tim Moore, and Charlie Lanza.

Absent: Paul Sickel, John Sherman, George Melvin.

Present for Staff: Leigh Komornick and Mike Dorman.

### PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

All stood and made a Pledge of Allegiance to the flag.

#### MINUTES OF AUGUST 10, 2011 PLAISTOW 1ST COMMITTEE MEETING

Tim Moore motioned, Dave Hansbury seconded, to approve the minutes of the August 10, 2011 Plaistow 1st Committee meeting.

#### So voted. Dick Latham abstained.

#### PLAISTOW FIRST COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS:

#### **RECOMMENDATION:**

Dave Hansbury made a motion, Dick Latham seconded, to recommend that Tax Map 20, Lot 12 be retained for water conservation. (If not currently a recommendation, make a new one).

#### So voted.

#### **RECOMMENDATION TF-12:**

Dave Hansbury motioned, Charlie Lanza seconded, to remove from Recommendation TF-12 Tax Map 8, Lot 26 and make it a new recommendation to acquire this parcel and add it to the Town Forest. It will show as a Priority 8, "Acquire". (And update the map accordingly).

#### So voted.

Dave Hansbury motioned, Charlie Lanza seconded to remove Tax Map 18, Lot 27 from Recommendation TF-12 as it is a privately owned house.

#### So voted.

#### **RECOMMENDATION TF-12:**

Dave Hansbury motioned, Dick Latham seconded, to develop a new recommendation that: "Tax Map 20, Lot 1 be acquired and added to the Town Forest. It will show as Priority 8, "Acquire."

#### So voted.

#### **RECOMMENDATION TF-12:**

Dick Latham motioned, Charlie Lanza seconded, to change the wording of Recommendation TF-12 to match the wording of TF-11.

#### So voted.

#### **OVERALL VOTE ON RECOMMENDATIONS:**

Dick Latham motioned, Dan Johnson seconded, to forward a copy of the amended recommendations per today's meeting votes and updated map and categories.

#### So voted.

Discussion ensued regarding how the recommendations should be presented to the Selectmen. Tim Moore noted that he would prepare a memo/report that explains the purpose of Committee and how it generated the recommendations, etc...

#### NEXT MEETING

The next meeting of the Plaistow First Committee will be held on Wednesday, September 14, 2011 at 3:30 p.m. on the second floor of the Town Hall.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

★Bob Gray motioned, Dave Hansbury seconded, to adjourn the meeting at 4:37 p.m.

So Voted.

Respectfully Submitted,

Leigh G. Komornick, Town Planner Plaistow First Committee Recording Secretary -----

As included in every set of minutes for informational purposes, the following is a list of the subcommittees, persons assigned to them, and their purpose:

**Needs Subcommittee includes Bob Harb, Bob Gray and George Melvin.** Their purpose is to create a needs list of property and buildings after reviewing the Master Plan and interviewing the Board of Selectmen, Town Manager, Town Department Heads, Fire, Police, and any else the Subcommittee deems they wish to interview. This discussion should include water and conservation issues (to be more particular defined by the Selectmen shortly in response to a request from this Committee.

**Use (Usage) Subcommittee includes John Sherman, Dick and Charlie Lanza.** To review how Town property is presently being used and to recommend properties that should be used differently.

**Disposition Committee includes Tim Moore, Dave Hansbury and Paul Sickel.** Their purpose is to report on suggested properties that should be disposed of /sold by the Town;

Acquisition Subcommittee includes all members of the Plaistow First Committee. The purpose of this subcommittee is to report on properties the Town should consider acquiring and/or a plan for future Town acquisition of properties.

As staff support to all of the subcommittees, Resource Assignments will be carried out by Leigh Komornick, Mike Dorman & Sean Fitzgerald.