PLANNING COMMISSION

The Planning Commission is responsible for keeping current the Town's Plan of Conservation & Development, which is a statement of the town's goals and policies for land use, municipal improvements, programs and standards, portions of which the Commission updated as recently as 2006. Proposals for major developments and town improvements are presented to the Commission and are evaluated by the board for consistency with various plans of the Town.

During the 2011-2012 fiscal year, the Commission acted upon 1 referral from the Town of Essex, 12 referrals from the Zoning Commission for special exceptions applications and 1 referral for approval for proposed amendments the Zoning Regulations. The Commission acted upon 2 proposals to modify a previously approved subdivision, 1 subdivision of land & lot line change, and 1 proposal to re-subdivide land. Additionally, the Commission updated its Subdivision Regulations and Regulations for Public Improvements to address statutory changes in bonding for public improvements.

In addition to its regular duties, the Commission's ad hoc Natural Hazard Mitigation Committee worked with Jay Northrup from the Connecticut River Estuary Regional Planning Agency to update the Town's Natural Hazard Mitigation Plan (2006). Janis Esty, Robert Missel, and Catherine Flanagan served as members of the Committee, as did John Talbott of the Zoning Commission, Jerry Brophy of the Conservation Commission, Steve Gernhardt of the Board of Selectmen, and Tom Stevenson of the Board of Finance. The Committee will begin sharing its study of natural hazards in the next fiscal year.

The Commission works closely with other boards and commissions. Presently, the Chairman represents the Commission on the Inland Wetlands & Watercourses Commission; David Shearer serves on the BOS' Land Acquisition Committee; and Catherine Flanagan is the Commission's representative to the Connecticut River Estuary Regional Planning Agency. The Commission would like to thank all three for their service and dedication.

Christine Nelson, Town Planner, is available Monday through Thursday by appointment in the Land Use Department of the Town Hall to assist with applications and to answer questions concerning land use in Old Saybrook.

The Commission meets on the 1st and 3rd Wednesdays of each month with the exception of July and August, when there is only one meeting, at 7:30 p.m. in the Town Hall, first floor conference room. Kathy Noyes of the Land Use Department supports us as our recording clerk.

Janis L. Esty, Chairman