The Planning Commission is responsible for keeping current the Town's Plan of Conservation and Development. The plan is a statement of goals, policies, municipal improvements, programs and standards, which were adopted in 2003. Proposals for major developments and town improvements are presented to the Commission and are evaluated by the board for consistency with the Plan.

In this past fiscal year the Planning Commission received two referrals for municipal improvements one concerning the sale of a portion of Quarry Street and the second a consideration of Affordable Housing, both of which were approved. The Old Saybrook Water Pollution Control Authority referred its proposed Establishment of a Decentralized Wastewater Management District Plan to the Commission for approval and the district plan was found to be consistent with the Plan of Conservation and Development. The Planning Commission received three referrals from the Zoning Commission for special exceptions applications and three referrals for approval for proposed amendments to the Non-Residential sections of the Zoning Regulations. There were four proposals for modifications to formerly approved subdivisions Pasbeshauke, Terray, Saybrook Ridge and Saybrook Woods. The Saybrook Woods modification concerned violation of a conservation easement.

In addition to its regular duties the Commission was involved in four workshops; drafting road regulations and amendments to the subdivision regulations, characterization and design guidelines, updating the regional Plan of Conservation and Development with CRERPA and determining the differences that may exist between state, regional and local plans and the development of incentive housing zones (affordable housing).

The Planning Commission meets on the first and third Wednesdays of the month with the exception of July and August, when there is only one meeting, on the first floor of the Town Hall on Sheffield Street in Old Saybrook. The Commission is composed of five regular members and three alternates one alternate position is currently vacant. The Commission works closely with other elected boards and commissions. Presently the Chairman Robert McIntyre represents the Commission on the Inland Wetland Commission and two former commission members have volunteered their time to represent the Planning Commission; Judith S. Gallicchio serves on the Land Acquisition Committee and the Road Regulation Committee and Richard D. Tietjen is the current representative to the Connecticut River Estuary Regional Planning Agency. The Commission would like to thank all three for their service and dedication.