PLANNING COMMISSION

The Planning Commission is responsible for keeping current the Town's Plan of Conservation & Development against which all proposals for major development and municipal improvement are compared for consistency with our community's stated goals and policies.

During this fiscal year, the Commission considered many referrals for development from other commissions for consistency with the Plan of Conservation & Development – the Zoning Commission submitted 12 referrals for Special Exceptions or modifications of previously-approved Special exceptions, 2 referrals for zoning regulation changes, and 4 referrals for coastal site plan review; and the Board of Selectmen referred 6 municipal improvements. The Planning Commission is also primarily responsible for reviewing all proposed subdivision of land within residential, commercial and industrial neighborhoods. The Commission approved 3 lot line modifications, and conducted public hearings on 3 subdivisions or resubdivisions of land, which were ultimately modified and approved as in keeping with the character of Old Saybrook.

The Old Saybrook Planning Commission meets the first and third Wednesday of each month (except July and August when only one regular monthly meeting is scheduled) at 7:30 p.m. at Pasbeshauke Pavilion at Saybrook Point Park, 155 College Street Extension. The Commission consists of five members and three alternate members. Some members also serve to represent the Planning Commission on other Town land use agencies:

Inland Wetlands & Watercourses Commission – Robert J. McIntyre Connecticut River Estuary Regional Planning Agency – Richard D. Tietjen Land Acquisition Committee – Judith S. Gallicchio Road Regulation Committee – Judith S. Gallicchio

This year the Planning Commission welcomed new members into the vacancies created by Judy Gallicchio and Dick Tietjen – two members whose remarkably long tenures on the Planning Commission and as liaisons to its sister agencies personify an era of the Town's leadership and inspire a continuance of progress.

Robert J. McIntyre, Chairman