PLANNING COMMISSION

The Planning Commission is responsible for keeping current the Town's Plan of Conservation & Development against which all proposals for major development and municipal improvement are compared for consistency with our community's stated goals and policies. During this fiscal year, the Commission considered many referrals for development from other commissions for consistency with the Plan of Conservation & Development – the Zoning Commission submitted eight referrals for Special Exceptions, three referrals for zoning regulation changes, and one zoning map change; and the Board of Selectmen referred three municipal improvements.

The Planning Commission is also primarily responsible for reviewing all proposed subdivision of land within residential, commercial and industrial neighborhoods. The Commission approved four lot line modifications, and conducted public hearings on two resubdivisions of land, which were ultimately modified and approved as in keeping with the character of Old Saybrook.

The Commission also proposed updates to the Plan of Conservation & Development and recommended to the Board of Selectmen the new Sidewalk Plan. The Commission participated in numerous community workshops regarding South Green Historic District, Founders Memorial Park, Town Center Gateway, and Community Explorer on-line. The commission received one petition for change of road name, this petition was denied.

The Old Saybrook Planning Commission meets the first and third Wednesday of each month (except July and August when only one regular monthly meeting is scheduled) at 7:30 p.m. at Pasbeshauke Pavilion at Saybrook Point Park, 155 College Street Extension. The Commission consists of five members and three alternate members. Some members also serve to represent the Planning Commission on other Town land use agencies:

Inland Wetlands & Watercourses Commission – Robert J. McIntyre Connecticut River Estuary Regional Planning Agency – Richard D. Tietjen Land Acquisition Commission – Judith S. Gallicchio Road Regulation Committee – Judith S. Gallicchio Sidewalk Plan Committee – Judith S. Gallicchio