

TOWN OF OLD SAYBROOK Economic Development Commission

302 Main Street • Old Saybrook, Connecticut 06475 Telephone (860) 395-3139 • FAX (860) 395-3125 Carol Conklin, Chair Elizabeth Swenson, Vice Chair John DeCristoforo, Secretary/Treasurer

Joseph Arcari
David Cole
James Keating
Matthew Pugliese
Bruce Greenfield, Alternate
Sandra Roberts, Alternate

SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

March 16, 2016 Economic Development Office, Old Saybrook Town Hall 7:35 pm

CALL TO ORDER

ROLL CALL

Members present: Carol Conklin, Elizabeth Swenson, James Keating, John DeCristoforo, Bruce Greenfield, Matthew Pugliese, Sandra Roberts
Members absent: Joseph Arcari, David Cole
Staff: Susan Beckman, Economic Development Director

Members of the Public: Michael C

PUBLIC QUESTION & COMMENT

REGULAR BUSINESS

A. Approval of Minutes: March 16, 2016

MOTION to approve the minutes of the special meeting March 16, 2016, **MADE** by B. Greenfield, **SECONDED** by J. DeCristoforo; **VOTED IN FAVOR:** C. Conklin, J. DeCristoforo, B. Greenfield, J. Keating, M. Pugliese, S. Roberts; **OPPOSED:** none;

ABSTAINED: none; APPROVED: 6-0-0.

- E. Swenson joined the meeting at 7:40pm.
- B. Correspondence & Announcements

The EDC received a memo from First Selectman Fortuna thanking them for their efforts regarding Mariner's Way zoning changes to encourage economic development.

OLD BUSINESS

A. Mariner's Way Zoning Update

Commissioners discussed the outcome of the March 21 Zoning Commission meeting and the denial of all four petitions for zoning changes in the Mariner's Way area. Commissioners will invite First Selectman Fortuna to the April 14 meeting to discuss next steps with implementation of the Mariner's Way Plan. The EDC will consider the Zoning Commission's invitation to have a workshop regarding the denied petitions.

ADJOURNMENT

MOTION to adjourn the meeting at 9:00 pm until the next Regular Meeting of the Economic Development Commission on April 14, 2016 at 302 Main Street, Town Hall, 2nd floor conference room; **MADE** by J. Keating; **SECONDED** by E. Swenson; **VOTED IN FAVOR:** C. Conklin, E. Swenson, J. DeCristoforo, B. Greenfield, J. Keating, M. Pugliese, S. Roberts; **OPPOSED:** none; **ABSTAINED:** none; **APPROVED:** 7-0-0.

Respectfully submitted, Susan W. Beckman Economic Development Director