

CITY OF OAK HILL 234 South U.S. Highway 1 Oak Hill, Florida 32759

WATERFRONT COMMITTEE December 11, 2012 6:00 P.M.

MINUTES

A. Roll Call

Donia Dewees, Cynthia Livingston, James W. (Buck) Carr, Joe Ludwig, all present.

B. Welcome

Board Chair Donia Dewees welcomed everyone and gave guidelines for the procedure.

C. Presentations

Board Member Buck Carr, who had arranged for these presentations, introduced the program.

Coastal Restoration Projects in the Mosquito Lagoon

With the aid of PowerPoint, Ron Brockmeyer, of the St. Johns River Water Management District, explained that these Restoration Projects enhance wetland impoundments by installing culverts, and restore dragline-ditched wetlands by scraping down spoil piles. Salt marsh vegetation needs to recover after such treatment, and he gave the recovery rates over time in various locations.

2. Living Shorelines

Paul Haydt, St. Johns River Water Management District, discussed shoreline stabilizing techniques that reduce wave energy to enhance habitats and protect water quality. Stabilization is needed particularly with the non-sloping, vertical bulkhead types of shorelines. Installing boulders, wave breaks, oyster bags, and vegetation are examples. It is important to conduct a shoreline profile and wave energy assessment so that the right techniques can be selected and used in the right place.

3. Overlapping Management & Regulatory Authority, CNS

John Stiner, Canaveral National Seashore, reviewed the permitting process for setting up a Living Shoreline project at Oak Hill, and provided contact info for the Department of the Army, the Florida Dept. of Environmental Protection, and the Canaveral National Seashore.

D. Discussion: Shellfish Harvesting / Clam Leases

Bill Browning - Aquaculture Bureau, Florida Dept. of Agriculture & Consumer Services, talked about what might work in the Oak Hill area to help the shellfish industry.

E. Public Participation: Question & Answer Session

Note: For any public participation: In accordance with City Resolution 2006-17, a three (3) minute time limitation per speaker will be imposed. A speaker may address the Commission for a maximum of three (3) minutes during the Public Participation portion of the meeting, and for a maximum of three (3) minutes during any specific Agenda topic.