Selectmen's Minutes Non-Public Session 09 September 2002 8:15pm

Mr. Sullivan made the motion to convene in non-public session under RSA 91:A:3 II (a) for the purpose of discussing personnel issues including a grievance hearing and reviewing rates of pay. Mr. Hines seconded the motion. The vote was unanimous and so moved. The non-public session was convened at approximately 8:15pm. Those present included Jenifer Landman, Allen Hines, Lloyd Sullivan, (selectmen), Russell McAllister (Town Administrator), Brian Page (Police Chief), Josh Stokel (Shop Steward Local Teamsters 633), Thomas Noonan (Local 633 Teamsters Representative), Officer David Pridham, and Jessica Miehle (Police Department Secretary).

Mr. Noonan characterized the nature of the grievance as a he said she said. Mr. Stokel explained that Mr. Pridham was scheduled for a detail and upon reporting for said detail discovered that the detail was cancelled. Subsequently Mr. Pridham requested payment for the 4-hour detail. Mr. Page denied the request noting that in conversation with Ms. Miehle, Mr. Pridham was indeed notified by phone along with Officer Cormier that the detail was cancelled. Mr. Noonan noted that miscommunications can happen and that it may well be the case in this instance that Ms. Miehle may have forgot to notify Mr. Pridham. Mr. McAllister noted that the miscommunications could also have been the failure of Mr. Pridham's memory. The Board noted that they would render their decision within 15 days as required by the contract. Those present, with the exception of Mr. Page exited the meeting. Thomas Lambert (Fire Chief) and Robert Strout (Road Agent) entered the non-public session. Discussion of compensation ensued. It was noted that some staff members had received an 8% increase while the department heads present had received a 3% increase despite successful performance reviews. The Board agreed about the need to have a wage and classification study.

Mr. Sullivan made the motion to adjourn the non-public session. Mr. Hines seconded the motion. The vote was unanimous and so moved. The non-public session adjourned at 8:50pm.

Respectfully,

Russell McAllister Town Administrator