## North Hampton Heritage Commission Meeting May 17, 2007 Heritage Commission Conference Room (Old) Town Office

Commissioners Present: Jenifer Landman, Chair Jane Currivan, Vice-Chair Carolyn Brooks, Treasurer Penny Kidd, Secretary Jane Palmer, Alternate Paul Cuetara Commissioners Absent: Emily Creighton, Selectman Ben King, Alternate

The meeting was called to order at 9:30 a.m.

### A. Town Hall Committee Status

The Town Hall Committee did not meet. They are awaiting an engineering study to be completed.

### B. Minutes

Minutes for April 19, 2007 were reviewed. A motion to approve was made by Paul Cuetara, seconded by Jane Palmer; and unanimously approved by those Commissioners present at that meeting.

## C. Treasurer's Report

A report from the Town's general ledger was provided to Carolyn Brooks by Penny Kidd, showing a cumulative balance of \$1,825.62. Another \$1,000 will be added to the account by the Town in July.

## D. Project Update--Barns

Priscilla Leavitt and George Chauncey, representing the Historical Society, will be meeting with Jenifer Landman.

## E. Memberships

Paul Cuetara opened a discussion regarding the Heritage Commission's proposed membership in several organizations, examples of which include the National Trust of Historic Preservation and the New Hampton Preservation Alliance. Jane Palmer made a motion to join such organizations, if the membership fee is less than \$100. If the fee exceeds \$100, the membership fee would require separate approval by the Commission. The motion was seconded by Penny Kidd and passed unanimously.

## F. Policy and Procedure-Expenditures

Invoices for all expenditures should be presented to the Treasurer of the Heritage Commission, then to the Chair, and then forwarded to the Town of North Hampton's Accounts Payable Clerk for payment. The motion was made by Paul Cuetara, seconded by Carolyn Brooks, and passed unanimously. Jenifer Landman will notify the Board of Selectmen of this change in procedure. Invoices for the Heritage Commission lacking these signatures of approval are not to be paid.

# G. Policy and Procedure—Quorum

The question arose regarding the minimum number of Heritage Commissioners and Alternates necessary to reach a quorum. In the past, since there are five Commissioners, three Commissioners were considered to make a quorum. In the absence of a Commissioner, an Alternate would meet the quorum requirement and have full voting rights of the absent Commissioner.

Paul Cuetara requested that a quorum be redefined as requiring only two Commissioners. Much debate followed, resulting in postponement of a motion on this change, following further discussion at the next meeting.

H. <u>Heritage Commission Room as Venue for Historical Society Display</u> The Historical Society has a cabinet, which might be used for display in the Heritage Commission Room at the Town Clerk's Office. It was recommended that safety glass be used in the cabinet, any cost for which would be paid by the Historical Society. Access to the Town Clerk's Office is currently restricted to Sue Buchanan, who is the Clerk and Tax Collector, her deputy, and the Fire Department. Access to the Heritage Commission room and viewing any displays would be limited to dates and times that a clerk was present. Existence of insurance for the historical property could not be verified.

## I. <u>Reappointments</u>

The Planning Board has passed the Reappointments for Commissioners and Alternates. Wendy Chase had sent minutes to the Board of Selectmen (BoS), but the Chair, Emily Creighton, had not yet received them. Current members are to remain on the Heritage Commission with full privileges until replaced. Once the candidates for membership are approved by the BoS, they will be sworn in by the Town Clerk.

## J. Union Leader Jeff Gilbert Article

The source for L-chip Grant money has been renewed for all historical projects, primarily for land rather than buildings.

## K. Meeting Adjourned

Jane Currivan made a motion to adjourn, Jane Palmer seconded, and unanimous approval obtained to adjourn the meeting at 10:20 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Penny Kidd Secretary