

TOWN OF NEWTOWN

PARKS AND RECREATION DEPARTMENT

THESE MOTIONS ARE SUBJECT OT THE APPROVAL BY THE PARKS AND RECREATION COMMISSION.

The Parks and Recreation Commission held a special meeting on Monday, April 6, 2015 in the conference room located at 3 Main Street in Newtown, CT. The meeting was called to order by Commissioner Patrick Barczak, at 6:05 pm. **Present:** Chairman Edward Marks, Patrick Barczak, Thomas DiNicola, Maureen Crick Owen, PJ Yochum, Warren Spencer. **Absent:** Vincent Yanni, Jr., Carl Samuelson, RoseAnn Reggiano **Staff Present:** Amy Mangold **Public:** Chris Lafky, Jim Swift, William Loging, Joe Augustine, Michael Heran, John Klager, Andy Via, Richard Dieckman, Rory Dieckman, Vicki Clark, Pat McCleary.

Motion:

Commissioner Thomas DiNicola made a motion to approve to proceed with getting more information on the proposal of building a new Gaga Ball Pit. Commissioner PJ Yochum second the motion, which was carried unanimously.

Motion:

Commissioner Pat Barczak renewed a motion from the previous meeting to approve the waiver request for the Fairfield County Captains for the spring/summer 2015. Commissioner Tom DiNicola second the motion.

Motion:

Commissioner Maureen Crick Owen moved to amend the motion to approve the waiver for Fairfield County Captains with the condition that allocation for the field use and access be equitable with scheduling for spring and summer 2015. Commissioner PJ Yochum second the motion. In a roll call vote, Commissioner Warren Spencer voted to approve the motion for spring and summer 2015, on the basis that it is for just spring and summer 2015, referring to extenuating circumstances associated with the situation, but questioned the uniqueness. Commissioner Thomas DiNicola voted to approve the motion, based on that it is for the kids, but questioned the uniqueness. Commissioner Maureen Crick Owen voted to approve the motion, questioned the uniqueness, but approved based on the understanding that the process will be changing in the fall. Commissioner Pat Barczak voted to approve the motion, knowing the process will be changing. Commissioner PJ Yochum approved the motion for spring and summer, knowing the policy will be changing in the fall. Chairman Ed Marks didn't vote at last meeting, March 10, 2015, so abstained from voting. The motion was carried 5 to 0 with one abstention.

Motion:

Commissioner Thomas DiNicola made a motion to approve an increase of \$10,000, from \$25,000 to \$35,000 to purchase a total of 12 dock slips. Commissioner Warren Spencer second the motion, which was carried unanimously.

Acceptance of Minutes:

Commissioner Tom DiNicola made a motion to approve the minutes for January 13, 2015, as presented. Commissioner Warren Spencer second the motion, which was carried unanimously.

Commissioner PJ Yochum made a motion to approve the minutes of February 10, 2015, as presented. Commissioner Maureen Crick Owen second the motion, which was carried unanimously.

Commissioner Maureen Crick Owen made a motion to approve the minutes for March 10, 2015, as amended. Commissioner PJ Yochum second the motion, which was carried unanimously.

Motion:

Adjournment:

Commissioner Pat Barczak made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 7:33 pm. This motion was second by Commissioner Maureen Crick Owen, which was carried unanimously.

Gabriella Chernoff Clerk