Warrant Committee October 12, 2016 Second Meeting of FY17

Reserve Fund Balance: \$622,921

Present: Members LeeMichael McLean (Chair), Brian Beaupre, Jim Potter, Betty White, Michael Maholchic, Maggie McAveeney, Jean Eckner, Jonathan Schindler, Steve McCurdy, Chuck Karimbakas, Richard Boehler.

Guests: Town Moderator Robert Hiss

- **1.** The meeting was called to order at 7:30 p.m. in the Carol Blute Conference Room of Milton Town Hall.
- **2.** On a motion by Mr. Beaupre, seconded by Mr. Potter, the July 14th, 2016 meeting minutes were approved 7/0/3.
- **3.** Following a round of introductions by Warrant Committee members, Mr. Hiss introduced new appointees Mark Botelho, Jonathan Boynton, Marylou Asher, and Lucinda Larson. On a motion by Mr. Beaupre, seconded by Mr. Maholchic, the new members were approved for appointment 10/0/0.
- **4.** Mr. McLean stated that the Cemetery, Consolidated Facilities, Planning, Health, Police, Appraiser, Fire, Central Business Office, I.T., and Veterans departments had received 3% transfers in June and July. The Town Clerk's budget had received one Reserve Fund Transfer and the Law budget two RFTs during the same time.
- Mr. McLean said that FY18 department budgets are due December 1st and that department heads would be attending WC meetings through January. Scheduling and the role of the new Strong Town Administrator were discussed. An upcoming meeting date of November 9th was confirmed. Meetings on December 12th, 14th, and 19th were tentatively planned. A joint budget meeting with the School Committee had been confirmed for December 14th.

Volunteers were then assigned to department subcommittees:

- 1. Boards & Committees: Jim Potter (Chair), Jonathan Schindler
- 2. Capital Planning: Steve McCurdy (Chair)
- 3. Cemetery: Jean Eckner (Chair), Jim Potter
- 4. Council on Aging, Board of Health, & Parks: Chuck Karimbakas (Chair), Marylou Asher, Steve McCurdy
- 5. Consolidated Facilities: Richard Boehler (Chair), Brian Beaupre, Lucinda Larson, Betty White

- 6. Employee Benefits: Jonathan Schindler (Chair), Mark Botelho, Chuck Karimbakas
- 7. General Government: Michael Maholchic (Chair), Brian Beaupre, Jonathan Boynton, Jonathan Schindler
- 8. Library: Jean Eckner (Chair), Michael Maholchic
- 9. Public Safety: Lucinda Larson (Chair), Richard Boehler, Mark Botelho, Jonathan Boynton, Maggie McAveeney
- 10. Public Works: Steve McCurdy (Chair), Maggie McAveeney, Betty White
- 11. Schools: Betty White (Chair), Brian Beaupre, Richard Boehler, Chuck Karimbakas, Jim Potter
- 12. Zoning: LeeMichael McLean (Chair), Michael Maholchic, Jean Eckner

On a motion by Mr. Beaupre, seconded by Mr. Karimbakas, the meeting was adjourned at 8:19 p.m.

Reserve Fund Balance: \$622,921

Respectfully Submitted by Julia Getman Warrant Committee Clerk