Town of Milton Town Government Study Committee April 12, 2012

The Town Government Study Committee met on Thursday, April 12, 2012, in the Carol Blute Conference Room at Town Hall. Members John Cronin, Annemarie Fagan, Rob Gatnik, Ewan Innes, Mike Joyce, Mary McNamara, Rick Neely, Leroy Walker and Katie Conlon were present.

Chairman Neely called the meeting to order at 7:10 p.m.

On a motion duly made and seconded, the Committee voted unanimously to approve the minutes of its March 20, 2012 meeting.

Each member presented preliminary findings on the topic(s) that he or she was assigned to research at the Committee's March 20 meeting. The Committee discussed each topic and identified questions to be followed up and additional research to be performed.

It was agreed that the Committee should discuss issues relating to consolidation of town and school business operations with Town Accountant Amy Dexter, School Business Manager Matt Gillis, Treasurer Jim McAuliffe and former Treasurer Ed Spellman. The Chairman will invite Ms. Dexter, Mr. Gillis, Mr. McAuliffe and Mr. Spellman to the next meeting. DPW Director Joe Lynch had been invited to the meeting but was unable to attend. Mr. Lynch will be invited to the next meeting to discuss consolidation issues, fleet management, and emergency management response communications.

The Committee scheduled its next meeting for Tuesday, May 1, at 7:00 p.m. On a motion duly made and seconded, the Committee voted unanimously to adjourn at 8:45 p.m.

Submitted by:

Katie Conlon Secretary April 27, 2012