Town of Milton Town Government Study Committee December 13, 2012

The Town Government Study Committee (the "Committee") met on Thursday, December 13, 2012, in the Cronin Conference Room. The following members were present: Chairman Rick Neely, John Cronin, Annemarie Fagan, Mary McNamara, Leroy Walker and Katie Conlon. The following members were absent: Rob Gatnik, Marvin Gordon and Michael Joyce.

Chairman Neely called the meeting to order at 7:07 p.m.

On a motion duly made and seconded, the Committee voted 4-0-1 (Ms. Fagan abstaining) to approve the minutes of its November 15, 2012 meeting.

Ms. Fagan distributed a letter from the Mass. Department of Revenue ("DOR") to the Board of Selectmen and the School Committee stating that DOR will commence its financial management review in April of 2013. Chairman Neely recommended that a planning meeting be held to frame the issues and determine who should be interviewed by DOR. Ms. Fagan will arrange a meeting among Chairman Neely and representatives of the Board of Selectmen and the School Committee.

Mr. Cronin reviewed the legal status of certain committees and a conversation that he had with Town Counsel John Flynn. Discussion was deferred until later in the meeting.

Ms. McNamara, Chair of the Town Administrator Search Committee, gave an update on her committee's work.

Ms. McNamara distributed and discussed a two-page revised draft of recommendations relating to town meetings. She advised the Committee that additional changes will be made to the draft. Following up on a question raised at a prior meeting, Ms. McNamara reported that the Town of Falmouth holds its annual town election after its annual town meeting. Mr. Cronin recommended that a reduction in the number of town meeting members be considered only if other means, including publishing notice of open town meeting member seats before elections, do not solve problems such as insufficient numbers of candidates seeking open seats, absenteeism, and a lack of preparation by town meeting members. The Committee discussed publishing information about elections and which officeholder should be responsible for making such publication; whether to hold warrant review meetings and/or precinct meetings prior to town meetings; and possible methods of reducing chronic absenteeism by some town meeting members. Members suggested changes to the written recommendations.

Ms. Conlon distributed a draft recommendation relating to the appointment of an alternate member of the Planning Board. The Committee discussed the draft and revised a proposed bylaw change. It was agreed that Ms. Conlon will submit the proposal to Alexander Whiteside, Chairman of the Planning Board, and invite Mr. Whiteside and members of the Planning Board to the Committee's next meeting to discuss the issue.

The Committee briefly discussed the membership of the Capital Improvement Planning Committee and whether a permanent building committee should be established, two issues that were raised by School

Building Committee Chairman Tony Cichello at the Committee's October 25, 2012 meeting. The consensus of the Committee is that no action should be taken at this time.

Mr. Cronin distributed a copy of Chapter 2, Section 13, of the Town's Bylaws, which governs the terms of appointed committees established by a vote of town meeting. Mr. Cronin reported that, according to Town Counsel, the Audit Committee, the Information Technology Committee and the Recreational Facilities Committee (also known as the Article 38 Committee) were continued under action taken at the 2001 Annual Town Meeting. Mr. Cronin reported that certain other committees may need to be reappointed or discharged. He noted that Town Counsel recommends that the Audit Committee become a bylaw committee. Mr. Cronin and/or Ms. Fagan will consult with Town Counsel about the status of committees and whether a warrant article to re-appoint some of them should be submitted before the warrant for the May 2013 Annual Town Meeting closes on January 4, 2013.

The Committee will meet on Thursday, January 10, 2013.

On a motion duly made and seconded, the Committee voted unanimously to adjourn at 9:19 p.m.

Submitted by:

Katie Conlon Secretary December 28, 2012