TRAFFIC SAFETY COMMITTEE REGULAR MEETING JUNE 7, 2010

The Traffic Safety Committee meeting of Monday, June 7, 2010 was called to order at 6:05 p.m. in the Sunnycrest Conference Room of the Town Offices, 268B Mammoth Rd, Londonderry NH.

PRESENT: Chairman Robert Ramsay, Town Manager David Caron, Captain Gerard Dussault (for Police Chief William Hart), Town Councilor Sean O=Keefe, and Public Works Director Janusz Czyzowski. ABSENT: Fire Chief Kevin MacCaffrie, and School Superintendent Nathan Greenberg.

Press:

PUBLIC COMMENT

Deanna Mele of 8 Valley Street.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Minutes of the April 5, 2010 meeting could not be approved as members of that meeting were not present at this meeting. Tabled to October 4, 2010 meeting.

NEW BUSINESS

<u>Valley Street & Loop Road</u> – Deanne Mele of 8 Valley Street requesting the Stop Sign at the intersection of Valley Street & Loop Road be changed back to a Yield Sign. Ms. Mele expressed her opinion on this signage change for this T-Intersection. Public Works Director Czyzowski presented copies of pictures taken of the intersection. He advised all parties present of the specifications and consistencies within the Town regarding T-Intersections, and the Town's liability issues. Discussion followed by all parties present. Questions were asked and answered in regards to the "Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices", guidelines and specifications for T-Intersections.

Motion made by Police Captain Dussault to retain the Stop Sign. Seconded by Town Councilor O'Keefe 5-0-0

Ms. Mele left the meeting at 6:40 p.m.

Town Councilor O'Keefe brought up a request made by Town Councilor Dolan regarding the reasons for the 30 mph on High Range Road. It was discussed and explained that this issue was handled in the beginning of 2004, based on recommendations of the general public, and statistics presented by the Police Department on the amount of accidents that have taken place on that road.

OLD BUSINESS

None Discussed

ADJOURNMENT

Motion made by Public Works Czyzowski to adjourn at 6:50 p.m. Seconded by Town Councilor O'Keefe 5-0-0

Next Meeting is: October 4, 2010 @ 6:00 p.m.

Notes by:	Suzanne J. Hebert	Date:	June 7, 2010	
Minutes typed by:	Suzanne J. Hebert	Date:	June 9, 2010	
Approved:	Traffic Safety Committee	Date:	October 4, 2010	