TOWN OF FALMOUTH RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING THE 2011 FALMOUTH MIDDLE SCHOOL JAZZ BAND

WHEREAS, the Falmouth Middle School Jazz Band better known as the "Iron Twinkies" won the 2011 Maine State Jazz Band Championship for Division I on March 26, 2011; and

WHEREAS, the Iron Twinkies scored 98 out of 100 possible points to place first in the state among all schools competing; and

WHEREAS, twelve Falmouth musicians received Outstanding Soloist awards for their outstanding performances, and whereas the judges commented on the band's great sound, creativity and excellent performance in the jazz style; and

WHEREAS, eighth grader Matt Estabrook – tenor saxophone, was recognized as an "Outstanding Musician" in all of Division 1; and

WHEREAS, the Town is proud of the all-around effort of the Iron Twinkies in the competition, the hard work in preparing the musical compositions performed, and the great leadership of the director Mr. Jerry Barry in the teaching of jazz to his students; and

WHEREAS, the Town wishes to recognize the hard work and dedication of all band members: Alec Abbatiello, Cayman Bickerstaff, Brooke Bazarian, Alexandra Ertman, Matt Estabrook, Jaspreet Kohli, Griffin Leighton, Scott Lambert, Sam Larson, Callie McMahon, Emma Mooradian, Julia Warnock, Adam Gardner, Lynnea Harding, Iain Kurry, Alex Levy, Olivia Ring, Cam Wilkins, Nicole Budri, Matt Claar, Stephan Joyce, Keunjoo Kim, Tom Lesniak, and Director Jerry Barry.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED by the Falmouth Town Council assembled this 9th day of May, 2011 that Jazz Band director Jerry Barry and members of his Iron Twinkies Jazz Band are herewith recognized and congratulated by this Council on behalf of the citizens of Falmouth. Approved this 9th day of May, 2011.

Ellen Planer	Tony Payne
Town Clerk	Chairman Falmouth Town Council