

## TOWN OF FALMOUTH RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING THE 2010 FALMOUTH HIGH SCHOOL DEBATE TEAM

*WHEREAS*, on January 29, 2011, the Falmouth HIGH SCHOOL DEBATE TEAM won the State Championship Award as the Maine State Champion Debate Team and

WHEREAS, The Falmouth HIGH SCHOOL DEBATE TEAM also won the Sportsmanship Award; and

**WHEREAS**, the coach of The Falmouth HIGH SCHOOL DEBATE TEAM, Michelle Lafond, was named the Coach of the Year. and

WHEREAS, Ryan Tartre and Sean Connolly won first place in the Novice Public Forum and

*WHEREAS*, Kyle Grigel and Michael Norton won first place and Molly Paris and Katie Ventura won 3<sup>rd</sup> place and Reid Pryzant & Toby Aicher won 5<sup>th</sup> place in the Varsity Public Forum and

*WHEREAS*, Josh McGovern won 1<sup>st</sup> place; Chris Coughlin 3<sup>rd</sup> place; and Ben Dobbins 5<sup>th</sup> place in the Novice Lincoln Douglas Debates and

*WHEREAS*, Emma Sapat won 1<sup>st</sup> place and Lee Larson won 2<sup>nd</sup> place in the JV Lincoln Douglas Debates and Will Ryan won 5<sup>th</sup> place in the Congressional Debate Sweepstakes and

**WHEREAS**, the team has won awards in all 13 tournaments they have competed in, including three out of state at Harvard, Princeton and Columbia and

**WHEREAS**, the Town is proud of the all-around effort the Debate Team demonstrated by Teamwork, and Sportsmanship, which guided the team all season long; and

*WHEREAS*, the Town wishes to recognize the hard work and dedication of the team members Toby Aicher, Sean Connolly, Chris Coughlin, Ben Dobbins, Kyle Grigel, Analise Kump, Lee Larson, Josh McGovern, Chris Miller, Rory Nagem, Michael Norton, Molly Paris, Abby Practico, Reid Pryzant, Will Ryan, Emma Sapat, Ryan Tartre, Katie Ventura, Josh White, Nate Wolf and their Coach Michelle LaFond.

*NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED* by the Falmouth Town Council assembled this 28<sup>th</sup> day of February, 2011, that the Falmouth High School Debate Team and their coach are herewith recognized and congratulated by this Council on behalf of the citizens of Falmouth.

Approved this 28 <sup>th</sup> day of February, 2011.	
Ellen Planer	Tony Payne
Town Clerk	Chairman Falmouth Town Council