## TOWN OF FALMOUTH RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING THE 2010 FALMOUTH MIDDLE SCHOOL JAZZ BAND

- *WHEREAS,* the Falmouth Middle School Jazz Band better known as the "Iron Twinkies" won the 2010 Maine State Jazz Band Championship for Division I on March 20, 2010; and
- *WHEREAS,* the Iron Twinkies scored 97 out of 100 possible points to place first in the state among all schools competing; and
- *WHEREAS,* eight Falmouth musicians received Outstanding Soloist awards for their outstanding performances, and whereas the judges commented on the band's great sound, creativity and excellent performance in the jazz style; and
- WHEREAS, eighth graders Elias Robinson trumpet, and Will D'Agostino drums, were recognized as "Outstanding Musicians" in Division 1; and
- **WHEREAS,** the Town is proud of the all-around effort of the Iron Twinkies in the competition, the hard work in preparing the musical compositions performed, and the great leadership of the director Mr. Jerry Barry in the teaching of jazz to his students; and
- WHEREAS, the Town wishes to recognize the hard work and dedication of all band members: Brian Yoon, Matt Lamare, Maggie Seitz, Riley Engelberger, Alexandra Ertman, Noah Levy, Matt Estabrook, Elias Robinson, Russ Barnard, Ben Dobbins, Elise Bickford, Callie McMahon, Adam Gardner, Abby Whitmore, Isabel Friedman, Jessica Abramson, Nate Wolf, Cayman Bickerstaff, Iain Kurry, Jaspreet Kohli, Sam Larson, Lexis Anderson, Ben Aicher, Eric Chen, Will D'Agostino, Charlotte Cutshall, and Director Jerry Barry.

*NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED* by the Falmouth Town Council assembled this 24th day of May, 2010 that Jazz Band director Jerry Barry and members of his Iron Twinkies Jazz Band are herewith recognized and congratulated by this Council on behalf of the citizens of Falmouth.

Approved this 24th day of May, 2010.

Chair Falmouth Town Council