TOWN OF FALMOUTH RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING THE 2008 FALMOUTH MIDDLE SCHOOL JAZZ BAND

WHEREAS, the Falmouth Middle School Jazz Band better known as the "Iron Twinkies" recently won the 2008 Maine State Jazz Band Championship for Division I on March 22, 2008; and

WHEREAS, the Iron Twinkies scored 93 out of 100 possible points to place first in the state among all schools competing; and

whereas, ten Falmouth musicians received Outstanding Soloist awards for their outstanding performances, and whereas the judges commented on the band's sound, creativity and excellent performance in the jazz style; and

whereas, eighth grader and bass player Conor McGrory was recognized as an "Outstanding Musician" in Division 1; and

the Town is proud of the all-around effort of the Iron Twinkies in the competition, the hard work in preparing the musical compositions performed, and the great leadership of the Maine Music Educator of the Year, Mr. Jerry Barry in the teaching of jazz to his students; and

whereas, the Town wishes to recognize the hard work and dedication of all band members: Jane Yoon, Nathan Roscoe, Grant Backlund, Sophie Chaney, Evan Eklund, Gino Masciangelo, Will Robinson, Patrick Coyne, Sarah Twombly, Reid Pryzant, Catherine Hebson, Cassie Darrow, Lee Larson, Matt Witkowski, Hudson Carr, Dana Bloch, Alli Carver, Katharina Ertman, Henry Coxe, Harry Vanderkloot, Tim Follo, Sam Brown, Sarah Hemphill, Conor McGrory and Director Jerry Barry.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED by the Falmouth Town Council assembled this 16th day of June, 2008 that Jazz Band director Jerry Barry and members of his Iron Twinkies Jazz Band are herewith recognized and congratulated by this Council on behalf of the citizens of Falmouth.

Approved this 16th day of June, 2008.

Chairman Falmouth Town Council

Kathlun W. Babeu. Town Clerk