

Falmouth Conservation Commission Minutes of December 02, 2013

Meeting convened at 7:00 p.m.

Members Present: Sarah Boudreau, Mel Dickenson, Susan Gilpin, Jerry Goodall, Nancy Lightbody, Steve DeCrosta and Aaron Svedlow

Additional Attendees: Chair Town Council Teresa Pierce, Prospective FCC member Peter Dootz, GPSC member Jeff Edelstein

***Normal meeting agenda was motioned to be postponed by Steve DeCrosta and second by Nancy Lightbody, all favored to bring thanks and recognition to Mel, being his last FCC meeting after serving over 15 years on the commission. Jerry read a presentation on behalf of all commission members acknowledging thanks and Mel's many accomplishments as successful chair of the FCC. Town Council Chair Teresa Pierce also expressed the town's appreciation of Mel's service to the town. Mel expressed his thanks to the committee and provided a brief summary of his work and a few stories as well. Refreshments were then served.

A brief meeting was then held with minimum subcommittee discussions.

Review of Minutes

The minutes from the 11/4/2013 meeting were approved as written.

Guest speaker:

Jeff Edelstein from the Greater Portland's Sustainability Council (GPSC) shared the plans and goals of GPSC and reviewed what role of support the FCC could provide.

Clapboard Island:

Susan Gilpin reviewed an FCC support document on behalf of the committee regarding the purchase of Clapboard Island. Adjustments were suggested and made to the final draft that Susan was preparing. The resolution read as follows:

The Friends of Clapboard Island have completed a Critical Environmental Issues Analysis and noted that Clapboard Island has significant conservation value due to its habitat, wildlife, and undisturbed natural succession forest. Proximity to Town Landing, the presence of a sheltered beach on the western shore, and a well-maintained trail system make it attractive to town residents. Therefore, the Conservation Commission recommends that the town further explore protecting the island for conservation, education, and recreation.



FCC Chair:

A motion was made by Steve DeCrosta to elect Nancy Lightbody and Jerry Goodall as co-chairs of the 2014 Falmouth Conservation Commission and second by Aaron Svedlow. All members were in favor and gave warm congratulations to our prospective co-chairs.

Submitted by Steve DeCrosta