FAIRHAVEN SCHOOL COMMITTEE MINUTES

May 14, 2014

MEMBERS PRESENT:	Mrs. Powers, Mrs. Kuechler, Mrs. McKenna Mr. Roderick, Mr. Monroe, Mr. Veitch
MEMBERS ABSENT:	
STAFF PRESENT:	Dr. Baldwin, Mr. Kitchen, Mr. Kenney, Mrs. Tavares
STAFF ABSENT:	
OTHERS PRESENT:	Kim LeBlanc, <u>FEA President</u> , Bob Foster, <u>FHS Alumni</u> <u>President</u> , Drew Furtado, <u>Staff</u> , Kyle Bueno, <u>Student</u> <u>Advisory Representative</u>

The meeting was called to order by the Chair at 6:30 p.m.

Roll Call: Veitch, McKenna, Powers, Roderick, Monroe, Kuechler

The Chair informed the audience that the meeting was being videotaped.

Motion made by Mr. Monroe and seconded by Mrs. McKenna to approve the April 23, 2014 regular session School Committee minutes. Voted 5-0-1 Mr. Veitch abstained

Motion made by Mr. Roderick and seconded by Mrs. Powers to approve the April 23, 2014 executive session School Committee minutes. Voted 5-0-1 Mr. Veitch abstained

Motion made by Mr. Monroe and seconded by Mrs. McKenna to approve the May 3, 2014 regular session School Committee minutes. Voted 5-0-1 Mr. Veitch abstained

Motion made by Mr. Monroe and seconded by Mrs. Powers to approve the May 3, 2014 executive session School Committee minutes. Voted 5-0-1 Mr. Veitch abstained

There was no public comment.

Kyle Bueno, student representative informed the School Committee of recent and upcoming events taking place at FHS. Kyle also showed the School Committee pictures from the recent visit from Secretary of Education, Mr. Matthew Malone.

The School Committee received and placed on file the May 1st monthly enrollment.

Dr. Baldwin gave the School Committee a presentation regarding the Teaching and learning Action Plan. Dr. Baldwin announced that Mrs. Tara Kohler has been appointed as the Assistant Principal-Coordinator of Teaching and Learning Grades 6-12.

Mr. Drew Furtado gave the School Committee a presentation showcasing the amazing talent of the FHS Students and the work they've done in his class.

Mrs. Kuechler asked the School Committee to take the HMS tennis courts agenda item out of order.

Motion made by Mr. Monroe and seconded by Mrs. McKenna a accept the gift of a sum up to \$10,000 from the Fairhaven Tennis Association for their share in the partnering of the resurfacing of the HMS tennis courts.

Motion made by Mr. Veitch and seconded by Mrs. Powers to approve East Coast Sealcoating, Abington, MA as the lowest qualified bidder for the abatement of the Hastings Middle School tennis court resurfacing in the sum of Nineteen Thousand Four Hundred Dollars, \$19,400.00 of which the Fairhaven Public Schools shall be responsible for \$9,700 the balance shall be paid by the Fairhaven Tennis Association. Voted 6-0 unanimously

Motion made by Mr. Roderick and seconded by Mr. Monroe to suspend the rules of the School Committee meeting to allow for public comment regarding the FPS School Choice Participation. Dr. Baldwin gave the School Committee a quick overview of what being a School Choice school would entail. There was no public comment.

Motion made by Mr. Roderick and seconded by Mr. Monroe to close the public hearing regarding School Choice and re-open the regular School Committee meeting. Voted 6-0 unanimously

Motion made by Mr. Monroe and seconded by Mrs. McKenna to participate in School Choice for the 2014-2015 school year. Voted 0-6 Motion fails.

Motion made by Mr. Roderick and seconded by Mr. Veitch to approve Southern Middlesex Industries, 823 Pleasant Street, Norwood, MA as the lowest qualified bidder for the abatement of the Hastings Middle School flooring in the sum of Sixty Three Thousand, \$63,000. Voted 6-0 unanimously

Motion made by Mrs. McKenna and seconded by Mr. Monroe to approve West Flooring, 42 Winter Street, Pembroke, MA as the lowest qualified bidder for the resurfacing of the Hastings Middle School flooring in the sum of Eighty Three Thousand Six Hundred and Fifty One Dollars, \$83,651.00. Voted 6-0 unanimously

Motion made by Mr. Monroe and seconded by Mr. Veitch to adjourn the regular School Committee meeting. Roll call: Veitch-yes, McKenna-yes, Monroe-yes, Powers-yes, Roderick-yes, Kuechler-yes Voted 6-0 unanimously

Adjourned 7:45 p.m.

Robert Baldwin, Ed.D Secretary to the School Committee Fairhaven Public Schools