## FAIRHAVEN SCHOOL COMMITTEE MINUTES

## October 12, 2011

MEMBERS PRESENT: Mr. Gonsalves, Mr. Monroe, Mrs. Powers, Mrs. Kuechler, Mr. Roderick

Mr. Kruger

**MEMBERS ABSENT:** 

STAFF PRESENT: Dr. Baldwin, Mr. Kitchen, Mr. Kenney, Mrs. Tavares

STAFF ABSENT:

OTHERS PRESENT: Michelle Furtado, <u>Parent</u>, Ann Richard, <u>Staff</u>, Wayne Miller, <u>Staff</u>, Karen

Dorgan, Staff, Tara Kohler, Staff, Joyce Rowley, Neighborhood News, Sara

Lamarre, FEA, Tracy Diggins, Parent, Ashley Garth, Staff

The meeting was called to order by the Chair at 6:30 p.m.

The Chair informed the audience that the meeting was being videotaped.

Roll Call: Gonsalves, Powers, Monroe, Roderick, Kruger, Kuechler

Motion made by Mrs. Powers and seconded by Mr. Gonsalves to approve the September 28th, 2011 School Committee minutes. Voted 5-1 Mr. Kruger abstained

There was no public comment.

There was no report from the Student Advisory Representative.

Dr. Baldwin gave the School Committee an update regarding the School Building Committee and the MSBA. Dr. Baldwin showed the School Committee a breakdown of what the projected tax impact would be should the new school project get approved. Dr. Baldwin also addressed the concern people had regarding the number of parking spaces. There is scheduled to be 165 parking spots at a minimum with a separate spot for bus drops versus student drops.

Dr. Baldwin informed the School Committee of upcoming events.

Mr. Wayne Miller, Principal of Hastings Middle School presented the 2011-2012 School Improvement Plan. After a brief discussion the School Committee received and placed on file the 2011-2012 School Improvement Plan.

Mrs. Tara Kohler, Principal of Fairhaven High School presented the 2011-2012 School Improvement Plan. After a brief discussion the School Committee received and placed on file the 2011-2012 School Improvement Plan.

## FAIRHAVEN SCHOOL COMMITTEE MINUTES OCTOBER 12, 2011 PAGE 2

Motion made by Mrs. Powers and seconded by Mr. Monroe to adjourn the regular School Committee meeting, go into Executive Session and not return into regular session. Roll call: Gonsalves-yes, Monroe-yes, Powers-yes, Kruger-yes, Roderick-yes, Kuechler-yes Voted 6-0 unanimously

Adjourned 7:50 p.m

Robert Baldwin, Ed.D Secretary to the School Committee Fairhaven Public Schools