Rogers and Oxford Study Committee Meeting

Present: Tom Alden, Albert Benac, Stephen Desroches, Lisa Elliott, Nils Iaksen, Pamela Kuechler, Jeffrey Lucas, John Medeiros, Beverly Rasmussen, Gayla Reilly, Karen Vilandry Ex-officio: Selectman Bob Espindola

Guests: John Roderiques (Chair of Finance Committee), Ann Richard (Community Preservation Committee)

Absent: Barbara Acksen, Gail Isaksen, Paul Kitchen, Jimmie Oliver, Rona Trachtenberg

Tom Alden, Stephen Desroches and Karen Vilandry attended the School Committee meeting on September 11, 2013 and reported that the School Committee offered any school furnishings and equipment that they can use to other town departments, historic documents and items will then be moved to a safe location and remaining surplus will be auctioned off on the 21st.

Pam Kuechler reported that at their next meeting on Sept 25, 2013, the School Committee will formally vote to turn over the former Oxford and Rogers School buildings to the town. There was concern expressed about the maintenance, security and winterizing of these two buildings but these are the responsibility of the School Department until they turn them over to the town, at which time the Select Board will assume responsibility. Interest from the Rogers Trust will continue to be used by the School Department.

Gayla Reilly provided information on the Mass Historic Preservation Conference on Oct 18 in Lexington, which she will attend. She also shared leaflets from Acorn Management who have restored and repurposed historic buildings in New Bedford and will contact them for more information.

John Rodrigues gave guidance on the financial concerns of the Study Group and advised that we not let the committee become too large. With 11 members, we are beyond an ideal number for a working committee and our required quorum increases with each additional member. Our meetings are open to anyone who would like to attend and contribute ideas for repurposing these two buildings. He recommended that we fully investigate several options for the future of these two buildings and bring our recommendation to the Select Board. Bob Espindola offered information on how the Select Board and other town departments might support the work of the Committee and suggested that we create a mission statement to guide our work.

Ann Richard informed the Committee of the Nov 8, 2013 deadline for the Community Preservation Committee grants.

The following officers were voted in:

Chairperson – Nils Isakson Vice-chair – Tom Alden Secretary – Lisa Elliott

Voted (unanimous) to request Fairhaven Town Council review the deed of the Rogers and Oxford School buildings.

Voted (unanimous) to apply for the CPC money for a feasibility study on the two buildings. Gayla will ask Bill Roth for assistance on this application.

Beverly Rasmussen and Karen Vilandry will craft a mission statement for the committee and bring it to the next meeting.

Meetings will be held on the first Thursday of the month at 6:30 pm at the Town Hall. The next meeting is October 3, 2013.

Lisa Elliott, sec'y