Town of Fairhaven

Finance Committee

Minutes of the meeting for <May 3, 2017> in the library at the Elizabeth Hastings Middle School, 30 School Street, Fairhaven, MA

Members in attendance:

Chairman-Scott Fernandes, Robert A. Furtado, Lisa Plant, Kathi Carter, Thomas Alden, Jessica Dwelly

<u>Members joining committee at All Precinct Meeting at 7:00 PM.:</u>
<u>Padraic Elliott, Bernard Roderick, Tracey Diggins</u>

<u>Town of Fairhaven:</u>

Mark Rees-Town Administrator

Meeting was covered by government access television.

Chairman called the meeting to order at 6:03 PM. Announced that the meeting was being recorded by government access TV. Chairman has to be notified if anyone else present is recording the meeting by video or audio.

- Chairman states Jessica has been sworn in, and now can vote.
- Article 27: Funding Capital Stabilization Fund- FY18
 - Mr. Rees states we are still waiting for the HMS roof money from the MSBA.
 - Mr. Rees recommends using \$1.8 million dollars from Free Cash to fund the Capital Stabilization Fund.
 - Lisa asks why we are still waiting.
 - Mr. Rees states it is a long process getting reimbursed.
 - Tom motions to recommend \$1,800,000 from Free Cash/Surplus Revenue. Seconded by Lisa. Vote: Unanimous
- Article 22: FY18 Recreation Enterprise Fund Operating Budget
 - Mr. Rees states this will only come into play if Article 17 doesn't pass.
- Article 23: FEMA Grant for Ladder 1- 25% match- FY18

- Mr. Rees states they still haven't heard about the grant and will recommend Indefinite Postponement.
- Article 55: Pilot Agreement with CEC Solar #1114, LLC-FY18
 - Mr. Rees states they are still waiting on the final language of the agreement.
 - Recommends we vote on Saturday morning.
- Chairman states the wording in the Roadwork Article still needs to include Henry & Club Streets.

Lisa motions to recess until 7:00 PM at the All Precinct PreTown Meeting. Seconded by Tom. Vote: Unanimous

PreTown Meeting adjourns at approximately 7:55 PM.

Respectfully submitted by:

Robert A. Furtado Finance Committee Secretary (accepted 6-8-2017)