Town of Fairhaven

Finance Committee

Minutes of the meeting for <May 4, 2016> at the Elizabeth Hastings Middle School, 30 School Street, Fairhaven, MA

Members in attendance:

Chairman-Scott Fernandes, Robert A. Furtado, Padraic Elliott, Kathi Carter, Lisa Plante, Tracey Diggins

Members absent:

Ann Ponichtera DesNardis John Mota Thomas Alden

Meeting was covered by government access television.

Chairman called the meeting to order at 6:01 PM. Announced that the meeting was being recorded by government access TV. Chairman has to be notified if anyone else present is recording the meeting by video or audio.

- Discussion of Article 6- Sale of Oxford School, of the Special Town Meeting
 - Chairman states the Selectmen voted 2-1 in favor, at Monday night's meeting.
 - Chairman states the building would be limited to people 62 years of age or older.
 - Pat asks why 1 Selectman was opposed?
 Chairman states Selectman Murphy stated the neighbors were opposed to it and were concerned about their property values.
 - Discussion of the parking and the new lot to service the park.
 - Chairman states if we vote against this project, someone else could do a 40B there and the Town would have no control.
 - Tracey asks why this would lower property values?
 - Bob states he feels that the abandoned school could have more of a detrimental effect on property values than this project.
 - Pat states this seems to be the best option. There is no plan B.
 - Chairman states a Charter School there would take money from the local school system.
 - Chairman states he feels this is the best option so far, but it is up to Town Meeting.

- Pat motions to Recommend Adoption for Article 6- Sale of Oxford School. Seconded by Tracey. Vote: Unanimous
- Chairman states we will take up the Rogers School Article tomorrow.

6:15 PM. Pat motions to recess the meeting and reconvene @ 7:00PM. at the PreTown Meeting in the cafeteria. Seconded by Lisa. Vote: Unanimous

Meeting adjourns at 8:28 PM.

Respectfully submitted by:

Robert A. Furtado Finance Committee Secretary (accepted 5/5/2016)