

Fairhaven Capital Planning Committee

December 30, 2014 Meeting Minutes

Town Hall East Room – 4:00 p.m.

Present: Robert Baldwin, Vincent Furtado, Wendy Graves, Cathy Melanson, Andrew Tillet Jeffrey Osuch

Absent: Bill Roth

Mr. Tillet called the meeting to order at 4:08 p.m.

MINUTES

Ms. Melanson motioned to accept the minutes of the December 16, 2014 meeting. Ms. Graves seconded. Vote carried with one abstention from Mr. Tillet. (5-0-1).

GENERAL BUSINESS

General discussion ensued on the FY16 Priority Listing.

Discussion continued on potential MSBA reimbursement for roof repairs and replacement at the Hastings Middle School and the High School.

Mr. Osuch explained his draft of the five-year capital plan. Dr. Baldwin expressed concern about the five-year plan costs.

The committee will only provide the Selectmen with the FY16 Capital Plan and will continue to work on the plan for years 2-5 over the next few months.

CAPITAL IMPROVEMENT STABILIZATION FUND

Discussion continued on creating a Capital Improvement Stabilization article for Town Meeting. Ms. Graves will look into language for the article. The Committee may recommend \$400,000 for the Article. Ms. Melanson motioned to recommend for FY16:

<u>Capital Plan:</u>

Highway Equipment Road Work	144,000.00 300,000.00
Hastings Floors -8^{th} grade	151,440.00
Town Hall floors	20,000.00
Police pick-up	36,928.00
TOTAL	\$722,768.00

Fairhaven Capital Planning Committee – December 30, 2014 Open Session – 1

Dr. Baldwin seconded. Vote was unanimous. (6-0).

Ms. Melanson motioned \$400,000 for Capital Improvement Stabilization Article. Dr. Baldwin seconded. Vote was unanimous. (6-0).

ROADWORK

Discussion continued on the selection of streets for roadwork. The Committee will wait to see what streets are submitted by the BPW and petitioned in January.

The Committee will meet with the Selectmen on January 12, 2015 at 7:10 p.m. The next meeting of the Committee will be January 13, 2015.

Ms. Melanson motioned to adjourn at 5:15 p.m. Ms. Graves seconded. Vote was unanimous. (6-0).

Respectfully,

Jeffry W Davel

Jeffrey W. Osuch Secretary (Minutes approved 01/13/2014)