## OPEN SPACE COMMITTEE Town of Deerfield, Massachusetts February 3, 2010 MINUTES

MEMBERS PRESENT: Ben Clark, Judy Kundl, Lynn Rose, Bob Underhill (Chair)

## ATTENDING: Rich Hubbard, Corrine Dugas

The Open Space Committee meeting of the Town of Deerfield was called to order, pursuant to posted notice, in the Town Office Building, 8b Conway Street, South Deerfield, Massachusetts, on February 3<sup>rd</sup>, 2010 at 7:05 pm.

Minutes from the October meeting were accepted unanimously.

B Underhill initiated discussion of 2 pending CPA applications, those of Savage and Kostiuk, that are contiguous parcels on Lower Road. Rich Hubbard of the Franklin Land Trust explained that the land appraisals are not complete, and therefore the cost of the project is unknown. He hopes that the process will be complete by next week, when the CPA applications are due. Hubbard explained the APR process and fielded questions from the Committee, related to viability and cost of the parcels. A unanimous decision was reached to send a letter to the CPC in support of these parcels.

R Hubbard then informed the committee that the Crowley piece on River Road should be finalized soon. The Franklin Land Trust is initiating a strategic plan to recognize key parcels for preservation in area towns. He requested that the committee study the Greenprinting maps to identify priority areas in town to focus on.

Bernie Kubiak has sent a request for budget requests for the next year. B Underhill suggests lowering the budget request to \$500 from the current year's \$1000. Unanimous agreement reached as none of the current year's money has been spent.

B Underhill announces that he will be resigning from the committee following the April meeting. Discussion turned to possible future directions for the committee.

L Rose introduced information on the Planning Board's upcoming Storm Water Bylaw to be proposed at the Annual Town Meeting.

The next meeting will take place on April 21 at 7:00 pm in the Town Offices.

The meeting adjourned at 8:25 pm.

## A TRUE COPY

ATTEST: Ben Clark, Committee Clerk