

BOARD OF SELECTMEN RICHARD H. SMITH TOWN HALL

Regular Meeting November 28, 2017

Attendance: Selectmen Angus McDonald and Duane Gates. Margo Hilfiger and John Greene

(videography).

This regular meeting was called to order at 6:03 pm by McDonald.

Minutes:

Approve minutes of regular meeting on November 14, 2017.

Gates moved, McDonald 2nd, to accept the meeting minutes of November 14, 2017.

APPROVED 2-0

Discuss Building Department proposed fee adjustments:

Brief discussion regarding previously discussed proposal. McDonald explained benefits to town of adopting adjustments as proposed and possibility of adjusting again to a fixed fee for specific components to be researched.

Gates moved, McDonald 2nd, to adjust building permit fees to \$26.00 for the first \$1,000 of construction valuation and \$16.00 for each additional \$1,000 of construction valuation.

APPROVED 2-0

Appoint Joanna Giuliano to the Community Health Committee term to expire 12/01/2019:

Brief discussion of vacancy and applicant.

Gates moved, McDonald 2nd to appoint Joanna Giuliano to the Community Health Committee term to expire 12/01/2019.

 $\underline{APPROVED\ 2-0}$

Appointments:

Community Health Committee:

Grace Krick Term to expire: 12/01/2019
Russell Marth Term to expire: 12/01/2019
Claire Walsh Term to expire: 12/01/2019
Vacancy Term to expire: 12/01/2019

Conservation & Inland Wetlands Commission:

George A. Atwood, Jr.

Alan Miezejeski

Vacancy – alternate

Term to expire: 12/01/2020

Term to expire: 12/01/2020

Term to expire: 12/01/2020

Constables:

Peter Lewis Term to expire: 12/01/2018 Raymond Sypher, Jr. Term to expire: 12/01/2018

Constables – Special:

Howard Beardsley

Jerry F. Clark, Sr.

John Ely

Robert L. Jenkins

Jonathan Kastner

Marc Pisciotti

Donald R. Sampson

Term to expire: 12/01/2018

Design Advisory Board:

Peter Howard
Alan Paradis
Term to expire: 12/01/2019
Term to expire: 12/01/2019
Pamela Potter
Term to expire: 12/01/2019
Vacancy
Term to expire: 12/01/2019

Economic Development Committee:

William Dahl Term to expire: 12/01/2020 Peter Lewis Term to expire: 12/01/2020

Housing Authority:

Lisa A. Johnson Term to expire: 1/31/2023

Parks and Recreation:

Stephani Award	Term to expire: 12/01/2020
David Berardis	Term to expire: 12/01/2020
Karen Dexter	Term to expire: 12/01/2020
Miriam Morrissey	Term to expire: 12/01/2020
Donald R. Sampson	Term to expire: 12/01/2020
Elizabeth Scholfield	Term to expire: 12/01/2020
Vacancy	Term to expire: 12/01/2020

Planning and Zoning:

Janet L. Edgerton	Term to expire: 12/01/2020
Jonathan Kastner-alternate	Term to expire: 12/01/2020
Ben Whelan	Term to expire: 12/01/2020

THAMC (Town Hall Auditorium Management Committee)

Carol V. Doak-Jones	Term to expire: 12/01/2018
Luther M. Moen	Term to expire: 12/01/2018
Linalynn Schmelzer	Term to expire: 12/01/2018
Vacancy	Term to expire: 12/01/2018
Vacancy	Term to expire: 12/01/2018

WPCA:

Lisa R. Bibbiani	Term to expire: 12/01/2020
George Eckenroth	Term to expire: 12/01/2020

Zoning Board of Appeals:

Jerome Ackerman	Term to expire: 12/01/2020
William E. Harris	Term to expire: 12/01/2020
Jack Coulter-alternate	Term to expire: 12/01/2020

Gates moved, McDonald 2nd, to make the above re-appointments

APPROVED 2-0

Per state statute, appointments to the Planning and Zoning Commission and the Zoning Board of Appeals will be confirmed by Town Meeting to be scheduled for December 12, 2017. Agenda to be as follows:

To approve actions of the Board of Selectmen's regular meetings of October 24th, 2017 and November 28th, 2017:

1. Appointments to the Planning and Zoning Commission:

Tony Bolduc	Term to expire:	12/01/2019
Janet L. Edgerton	Term to expire:	12/01/2020
Ben Whelan	Term to expire:	12/01/2020
Christopher Desrosiers-alt	Term to expire:	12/01/2018
Jonathan Kastner-alt	Term to expire:	12/01/2020

2. Appointments to the Zoning Board of Appeals:

Jerome Ackerman Term to expire: 12/01/2020
Jack Coulter Term to expire: 12/01/2020
William E. Harris Term to expire: 12/01/2020

3. Approve appropriation of \$50,000 from General Fund to Highway Department Town Roads/Highway Maintenance line 010-30-130-53044 as designated by the board of Selectmen and Board of Finance.

Gates moved, McDonald 2nd to set a town meeting for 7:00 P.M. on December 12, 2017 at the Richard H. Smith Town Hall.

APPROVED 2-0

Audience of Citizens – Any other business to come before the board:

Q1 – Margot - school properties

A1 – McDonald responded

General discussions continued regarding Region 4 activities.

Gates moved to add to the agenda the formal dedication of the Town Hall to Richard H. Smith, McDonald 2nd,

APPROVED 2-0

Gates moved, McDonald 2^{nd} to recess the meeting to the Town Hall Auditorium

APPROVED 2-0

McDonald reopened the meeting at the Town Hall Auditorium and turned floor over to Gina Sopneski who invited Deep River Parks and Recreation, 9-Town Transit, Secretary of State and Former Assist Sec of State to speak.

Adjournment:

Gates moved, McDonald 2nd, to adjourn at 7:20 pm.

APPROVED 2-0

Respectfully submitted,

Angus McDonald, First Selectman