

# BEACON FALLS ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION

# MEETING MINUTES March 26, 2018

Chairman John Betkoski III called the monthly meeting of the Beacon Falls Economic Development Commission to order at 7:03 pm.

COMMISSIONERS PRESENT: John Betkoski III, Jeremy Rodorigo, Ed Korzon, Dennis Phipps, Dave Pokras.

COMMISSIONERS ABSENT: Kristen Trzaski, Brian DeGeorge.

**CERC: Sadie Colcord** 

### **MINUTES:**

D. Phipps moved to approve the minutes of January 20, 2018 and the Work Session minutes of February 26, 2018. Seconded by E. Korzon. All in favor, motion passes 5-0.

#### **PUBLIC COMMENT:**

- 1. Mike Mormile briefly introduced himself and stated he looked forward to working closely with the EDC.
- 2. Steve Ruhl gave a brief presentation re: new format for this years July Fourth Family Day Festivities on 07/07/2018. There was also some discussion re: "old schoolhouse" situation.
- 3. Joe Rodorigo, Vice Chairman of the BOF gave a brief update on EDC related issues in town.

# **CORRESPONDENCE:**

None

# **RECESS:**

There was a brief recess from 7:10 pm to 7:50 pm

OLD BUSINESS:
None.
NEW BUSINESS:
Chairman Betkoski made a motion to send a request to the Board of Selectmen that the Town continue its relationship with CERC and supply necessary funding for the project through 2018. Seconded by Vice Chairman Rodorigo. All in favor. Motion passes 5-0/
CERC REPORT / GRANT NEWS:
Sadie Colcord presented the EDC with a brief overview of her activities of late. The Tax Incentive project proceeds well. There will be a town vote on any action. She explained the COG model and transit plans. Business visitations continue along with work with the Governor's EDC Forum. Sadie will be looking into any grant money for brownfield work being available. The Beacon Falls EDC Business Breakfast is scheduled for April 30, 2018 at 8am at the New Harvest.
LIBRARY / COMMUNITY CENTER UPDATE:
None
PAYMENT OF BILLS:
D. Pokras moved to pay the \$94.50 Clerks bill. Seconded by J. Rodorigo.All in favor, Motion passes 5-0.
ADJOURNMENT:

With no other business, J. Rodorigo moved to adjourn the meeting at 8:35 pm., seconded by Dave Pokras. All in favor, motion passes 5-0.

Respectfully submitted,

Peter A. Christensen
Clerk